Creating A Pattern in Photoshop

by tiffanybtlr71991

I wanted to keep the flower patterns large scale so by keeping the resolution of the canvas 90dpi and importing the images as they were, I was able to have clear images while keeping within the limits of the specifications that Digital Decor had asked for. Below is some of my process in screen capture:

Image

 

I made sure that I worked to the length of the fabric (140cm) and I wanted a 20cm test print. The reason this is quite a large test print is because I need to view different aspects/images within the large scale print. You can see here I have also changed the colour mode to CMYK.

Image

 

Above I am working out specific measurments to make sure I leave room for the 10cm either side of the print for the printer to roll the material through.

Image

 

This is how I was origonally going to create my pattern, through dividing my canvas into equal 10cm by 10cm square panels. However I changed my mind as it didn’t make sence to create the large scale imagery based pattern on such a small canvas.

Image

 

I wanted to show this screen capture because in this drop down menu is an option to convert your image to a ‘smart object’. This helps to keep the image at its highest quality when scaling.

Image

 

So next I decided to create two main pannels of pattern to be reflected and repeated throughout. I chose which pressed flowers turned out best and played around with layout and spacing.

Image

 

From the previous tutorial I learned how to expand the canvas using percentages, which made it easier to form exact measurments. After I had created my two main pattern boards I just had to reflect them to form a 2m by 2m pannel of pattern.

Image

 

Above is how my final large scale pattern looks completed.

Image

 

Its difficult to show on a blog site, however I wanted to give an idea of what scale my print is, this is achieved by viewing it in print mode, and using the menu as a reference in the screen capture, hopefully you may be able to get an idea of the size.

Image

 

Here is my pattern imported onto my origonal ‘test print’ canvas that I will send away to Digital Decor. Ive tried to use an area of my print that includes most of my colour range.

